Posted to Jewish News on

Knesset Elects New Israeli President

Israel’s parliament on Tuesday elected its former speaker Reuven “Rubi” Rivlin to be the country’s 10th President, a mainly ceremonial post that he’ll take when current President Shimon Peres‘ term ends in July.

Rivlin, a 74-year-old member of the center-right Likud party, is a known opponent of the creation of a Palestinian state.

The Knesset elected Rivlinin two rounds of voting. Rivlin defeated Meir Shitreet of the Movement Party in the final round.

Though the Israel president is head of state, the post is basically ceremonial, and much more political power lies with the Prime Minister — a post currently held by Benjamin Netanyahu.

The following is a list of former presidents of Israel:

Chaim Weizmann: 1949-1952

Yitzchak Ben-Zvi: 1952-1963

Zalman Shazar: 1963-1973

Ephraim Katzir: 1973-1978

Yitzchak Navon: 1978-1983

Chaim Herzog: 1983-1993

Ezer Weizman: 1993-2000

Moshe Katsav: 2000-2007

Shimon Peres: 2007-2014

Full Banner



Comments are closed.