Posted to General on

New York State Begins Phased Reopening Of Eligible Regions, NYC Still on Lockdown


Gov. Andrew Cuomo has extended the stay-at-home order for New York State until June 13 unless regions meet certain conditions.

That’s according to a new executive order issued late Thursday night.

The governor says five regions – Central New York, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and Mohawk Valley – can begin Phase One of reopening Friday.

For a region to reopen, it must:

    • According to CDC guidelines, a region has to have at least 14 days of decline in total hospitalizations and deaths on a three day rolling average
    • Regions with few COVID-19 cases can not have 15 new cases or five deaths on a three day rolling average
    • A region must have fewer than two new COVID-19 patients per 100,000 residents per day
    • Hospitals can’t be filled to more than 70% capacity – including ICU beds – leaving 30% available in the event of a surge
    • All hospitals must have a 90 day stockpile of PPE
    • There must be 30 tests per 1,000 residents ready to go
    • Regions must have 30 contact tracers for every 100,000 residents, with additional tracers available based on the projected number of cases in the region
    • A risk/reward analysis of which businesses can reopen, with most essential businesses with lowest risk being prioritized
        • Phase 1: Construction, manufacturing and wholesale supply chain, select retail with curbside pickup
        • Phase 2: Professional services, finance and insurance, retail administrative support, real estate/rental leasing
        • Phase 3: Restaurants/food services, hotels/accommodations
        • Phase 4: Arts/entertainment/recreation/education

Businesses must adjust their practices to ensure a safe work environment and track cases
There will be a regional “control room” to monitor progress

Be the first to Comment!

Comments To The Editor